A few years back, my friends, I planned to attend Sinulog Festival which is an annual cultural and religious festival held on the third Sunday of January in Cebu City
Unfortunately, due to some circumstances, I failed to join them. It has been my dream to attend the grandest and most festive Sinulog ever. I remember back in my hometown, Pagadian City, we also celebrate the same Festival and like any other cities, it’s always amazing and so, I promised my self I would definitely visit Cebu City.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

 

HIGHLIGHTS:

5063ED1D-3315-4205-A0E9-22E8F48C11FF

1.  The Basilica Minore Del Sto. Niño is the oldest Roman Catholic Church in the Philippines. It was built in 1565.

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with m5 presetDE7D7463-F279-4F69-9F12-20922E94F8B0.jpg

5C1131C8-611A-4B3A-AE71-5B436F871634.jpg

2.  Fort San Pedro.  I was bedazzled by the simplicity and beauty of this museum built by the Spanish under the command of Miguel López de Legazpi, first governor of the Captaincy General of the Philippines.

 

Processed with VSCO with f2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

3. Plaza Independencia is one of the most tourist attractions in the Queen City of the South.
It is strategically located between Fort San Pedro and the building that used to be the Gobierno Provincial.

Since Sinulog festival has already begun, the plaza was surrounded by food stalls that offers a variety of options to choose from.

IMG_0922

4.  Cebu city jeepney along Colon street. Jeepney is the most popular means of public transportation in the Philippines. It symbolizes the Philippine culture and art. Jeepneys were originally made from U.S military jeeps left over from World War II.

In 2015, the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) has initially introduced the modernization of the jeepney into a more comfortable, boost passenger safety, and prevent pollution by imposing an age limit that is allowed to operate.

Colon street, on the other hand, is often called the oldest and the shortest national road in the Philippines. It is named after Cristóbal Colón (Christopher Columbus). This is the first street where I set my foot in after almost an hour ride from Lapu-Lapu city to Cebu city downtown.

AC6BB053-4B96-4021-A577-94DEA47E43A1

5.  Magellan’s Cross. Growing up, this was just a word of mouth but finally, I get the chance to see this historical monument. This famous cross was planted by Portuguese and Spanish explorers as ordered by Ferdinand Magellan upon arriving in Cebu in the Philippines on 15 March 1521.

If you studied in the Philippines, I am confident that this was discussed by your teachers and you’ve seen a photo of it in your textbook.

6.  Dive with the Whale shark in Oslob. Your Cebu trip won’t be complete if you miss diving with the largest known extant fish species, the Whale sharks.

I was unsettled when finalizing my itinerary if I should do this knowing that I don’t know how to swim but shame on me if I’d miss it.

 fIt’s worth a try.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

7. Tumalog falls. I was mesmerized by the beauty of this nature. Unbelievably magical.

It only took us less than 15 minutes ride from the The The BIGGIES Inn where we stayed that we booked a day before we arrived through Booking.com

Registration fee is 20pesos and there are Habal-habal that would take you near the waterfalls itself but we opted to walk and enjoy the moment.

I wanted to stay longer but we had to rush to our next destination.

IMG_0987

8. Canyoneering in Kawasan Falls.

Canyoneering is the sport of exploring a canyon by engaging in such activities as rappelling, rafting, swimming and waterfall jumping.

First of all, you need to be in good physical shape. Canyoneering is considered as extreme activity that requires full attention, proper gear and guidance from the expert or someone who has done this in the part or basically your tour guide if there’s any.

Again, I don’t know how to swim but I was rest assured by our tour guide that I’ll be safe given that we have the proper gear plus my willingness to see adventure.

There will be part of the entire activity wherein, you would feel unsafe jump or climb, so never hesitate to say “No” to your tour guide.

I was so lucky that Aidil, the guy I met from Singapore was so brave to do everything and so, It boost my confidence. If he can, I can.

IMG_1005

This place is just preternatural.

IMG_1002

Words can’t describe how unbelievable this must be. I survived the 45 feet jump. It didn’t cross my mind what will happen to me, knowing that I don’t know how to swim but yeah I did it.

The most unforgettable experience by far.

Photo 21-01-2018, 6 58 26 AMPhoto 23-01-2018, 10 02 57 AM (1)

 

9. New found friends.

Above all, I enjoyed making new friends. Who would have thought that I came to Cebu alone but left with treasure? Shoutout to all Cebuanos, you guys are amazing.
I had a wonderful time with Aidil from Singapore. Being with you for 5 days, exchanging ideas, sharing stories and laughter was incredible. Blez from Cebu, you’re so friendly and easy to talk to. Aemer from Canada, thanks for all your words of wisdom. Sari from Madagascar, your smile is the prettiest thing to wear. Kanoko from Japan, you’re so humble. Thank you for meeting me again before you left the Philippines.

To all of you, I wish all the best and see you somewhere around the world.

 

 

Leave a comment